Fax: (956) 8722523

(956) 8725615



P. O. Box 9701 McAllen, TX 78502

## **Faculty Senate Summer 2021: Online Motions**

Please be advised, the summer voting took place via email. The past Parliamentarian, Richard Smith, had stepped down in May 4, 2021. The Faculty Senate acted in good faith and are now working under Mark R. Murray's guidance. The minutes provided here attempted to follow Robert's Rules to the best of one's ability without the assistance of an official parliamentarian. The Executive Committee has since met with Mark R. Murray and are working on bettering these procedures to increase shared governance.

5/21/21: 'Fw: Faculty Senate Presidential Candidate Open Forum Report-Approval Request' Moved to to send the draft with pending and subsequent edits and updates to the Board of Trustees. By Louis Lee, seconded by Aaron Wilson

Ayes: Louis lee, Aaron Wilson, Ruben Flores, Sylvia Flores, Jesus Munoz, Sharon Rice, Jaclyn Miller, Javier Reyes, Nihan Kayaardi, Robert Vela, Louis Lee, Rolando Longoria, Wendi J. W. Williams, Mehrzad Geller, Pooja Rishi, Mark R. Murray

6/1/2021: 'Documents for Academic Classification Committee Presentations'

Moved to Departments should accommodate those faculty, as much as is reasonably possible, who have legitimate reasons for feeling unsafe teaching in person" by Aaron Wilson, seconded by Mark R. Murray.

Ayes: Sharon Rice, Brittany Lackey, Sylvia Flores, Mark R. Murray, Aaron Wilson, Mehrzad Geller, Rolando Longoria, Ruben Flores, Nihan Kayaardi, Pooja Rishi, Jaclyn Miller, Tim Weber, Micah Bailey, Jesus Munoz, Wendi J. W. Williams, Lee Basham

6/22/2021: 'Re: Fall 2021 Teaching Modality Report' move that Faculty Senate supports this research and agrees to send it to the administration for consideration, pending edits by Mark R. Murray, seconded by Tim Weber.

Ayes: Sharon Rice, Tim Weber, Ruben Flores, Robert Vela, Mehrzad Geller, Sylvia Flores, Rolando Longoria, Jaclyn Miller, Wendi Williams, Micah Bailey, Jose Molina, Brittaney Leckey, Pooja Rishi, Aaron Wilson, Rainlilly Elizondo, Nihan Kayaardi, Jesus Munoz.

7/8/2021: 'Re: Texas HB 3979 and Academic Freedom'

move to request that STC's legal counsel review HB3979 and for Administration provide official guidance to STC faculty regarding that new law. By Aaron Wilson, seconded by Mark R. Murray.

Ayes: Sylvia Flores, Nadia Carreon, Mark R. Murray, Aaron Wilson, Tim Weber, Rainlilly Elizondo, Ruben G. Flores, Sharon Rice, Bittany Leckey, Jaclyn Miller, Mehrzad Geller, Pooja Rishi, Robert Vela, Jesus Munoz, Wendi J. W. Williams, Nihan Kayaardi, Micah Bailey

7/15/2021: 'Re: Faculty Senate Presidential Updates and Motion for Deliver'

Move The Faculty Senate emails Dr. Solis the 'FS Presidential Updates' Report, pending edits, after our meet and greet (Friday, 7/16/2021 at 10 am) but offer a print-out version at the meeting if requested by Sylvia Flores, seconded by Mark R. Murray.

Ayes: Pooja Rishi, Mark R. Murray, Ruben Flores, Sharon Rice, Jaclyn Miller, Mehrzad Geller, Aaron Wilson, Sylvia Flores, Tim Weber, Brittany Leckey, Rainlilly Elizondo, Wendi Williams, Micah Bailey, Jesus Munoz, Louis Lee.

7/30/2022: 'Re: Distance Learning Motion-Amend Motion to Discuss Issues with Dr. Sale Before Updating the President'

Move to discuss with Dr. Sale, then discuss with Dr. Petrosian and, finally, update Dr. Solis by Dr. Rolando Longoria, seconded by Mark R. Murray.

Ayes: Jose Molina, Mehrzad Geller, Tim Weber, Nihan Kayaardi, Sharon Rice, Jesus Munoz, Wendi J. W. Williams, Mark R. Murray, Sylvia Flores, Aaron Wilson, Pooja Rishi, Ruben Flores, Micah Bailey, Jaclyn Miller, Robert Vela

8/12/2021: 'Re: Motion: to adopt CDC recommendations at STC' Moved to adopt the general CDC recommendations at STC, specifically the requirement to wear masks indoors by Dr. Khalid Salmani, seconded by Micah Bailey.

Ayes: Sharon Rice, Jaclyn Miller, Aaron Wilson, Nihan Kayaardi, Micah Bailey, Dr. Khalid Salmani, Layman D. Miller, Tim Weber, Karen Countrymen, Wendi Williams, Emma Miller, Pooja Rishi, John Terry, Mark R. Murray, Rainlilly Elizondo, Jesus Munoz Nay: Melanie Espinoza